Information related to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and U-M Dentistry

The Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics (BMSP), has the mission of contributing to the basic science curriculum of the School of Dentistry as well as preparing students to be competent in the clinical specialty of prosthodontics. The department's research programs contribute new basic knowledge to the biology of the orofacial region with the goal of providing insight into the mechanisms of oral diseases. Faculty in the department generate and disseminate new knowledge and original concepts in oral biology through creative research and scholarship. The department's service component draws upon the unique expertise of the faculty to serve as advisors at the international, national, university, and the School of Dentistry levels.

BIOLOGIC AND MATERIALS SCIENCES

Biologic and Materials Sciences has an exciting and vigorous research program in several areas related to Oral Biology. Oral Biology is a multi-disciplinary science concerned with the structures and functions of tissues, fluids, and microbial flora in the oral cavity and adjoining areas. Our faculty members are engaged in innovative basic science research to understand the principles and molecular mechanisms that guide normal development, the pathogenesis of oral disease and the development of novel therapeutic approaches. Our areas of emphasis include: cancer biology, materials sciences, microbiology and immunology, neurobiology, and tissue engineering.

PROSTHODONTICS

Prosthodontics is the branch of dentistry concerned with the replacement and maintenance of oral function, comfort, appearance, and health of the patient by the restoration of natural teeth and/or the replacement of missing teeth. Its major components are complete denture, removable partial denture, fixed partial denture prosthodontics, and dental implants. Our faculty are fully committed to excellence in teaching and provide expert clinical care. Prosthodontic appointments can be made through the Dental Faculty Associates Clinic or the Graduate Prosthodontics Clinic.

What is a Prosthodontist?


Learn about the Awards and Scholarships offered by the Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics.


Academic Programs

PROSTHODONTIC GRADUATE PROGRAM (MS)

In the three-year Advanced Specialty Education Program in Prosthodontics, students will be trained in all phases of oral rehabilitative procedures including implant placement. Students are enrolled in a 36-month Master's degree program.

DENTAL POSTGRADUATE PROGRAM IN PROSTHODONTICS (NON-DEGREE)

The program offers oral health professionals exceptional academic exposure and experience to meet the changing needs of a diverse patient population, enhancing knowledge and skills in the area of prostodontics and implant dentistry.

PROSTHODONTIC CLINIC

Prosthodontic restorations, like crowns, bridges, partial or complete dentures and implant retained restorations are available featuring the most up-to-date techniques and equipment.

Emrick Lab

Emrick Lab

The Emrick lab studies the molecules, cells, and circuitry of the sensory nervous system innervating the mouth, head, and neck to understand how it all encodes oral and craniofacial information, contributes to normal tissue function, and ultimately drives reflexes and perceptions.

Fenno Lab

Fenno Lab

The Fenno Lab's research focuses on the role of the oral spirochete T. denticola in the development of periodontal diseases.

Gerstner Lab

Gerstner Lab

The Gerstner Lab's research presently has two foci: (1) Comparative masticatory studies. (2) Tooth wear, fecundity and longevity.

H.O.P.E. Lab

H.O.P.E. Lab (DaSilva)

The H.O.P.E. (Headache & Orofacial Pain Effort) Lab investigates the brain as a research and therapeutic target for chronic trigeminal pain disorders,

Kaartinen Lab

Kaartinen Lab

The Kaartinen Lab is interested in underlying molecular reasons that lead to a formation of common craniofacial and cardiac birth defects in human newborn babies.

Kohn Lab

Kohn Lab

The Kohn Lab focuses on how the organizational hierarchy of mineralized tissues results in mechanical competence and to mimic aspects of nature's biomineralization strategies.

Kuroda Lab

Kuroda Lab

The Kuroda laboratory studies membrane-active antimicrobial polymers as synthetic mimics of host-defense peptides and antimicrobial coatings to prevent biofilm formation on biomedical materials.

Li Lab

Li Lab

Studies the function of neural populations that control breathing rhythms and behaviors (such as sighing), and the pathophysiology of diseases with breathing abnormality.

Liu Lab

Liu Lab

Research in the Liu laboratory focuses on understanding cellular and molecular mechanisms that regulate physiological and pathological bone metabolism, skeletal and craniofacial bone development and diseases.

Lombaert Lab

Lombaert Lab

The question that is driving the Lombaert Lab's research in the long-term focuses on how to apply stem cell-based therapies to repair damaged tissues.

Ma Lab

Ma Lab

The Ma Lab develops novel materials to support various biomedical applications, with emphasis on regenerative medicine, tissue engineering, and drug delivery.

Mishina Lab

Mishina Lab

The Mishina laboratory is interested in functions of BMP signaling during bone development/remodeling and craniofacial development.

Simmer Hu Lab

Simmer Hu Lab

The Simmer Hu laboratory studies tooth development, focusing on the human genetics of developmental anomalies of the dentition and using mouse models to understand how proteins encoded by genes function during normal tooth development and how their mutations lead to failures in such process.

Surface Lab

Surface Lab

The Surface Lab utilizes genome-wide approaches followed by molecular and organismal investigations, to understand the molecular responses of bone cells.

Stern Lab
Tomer Stern, Ph.D., M.Sc.

Our lab is dedicated to understanding the complex choreography of cells as they organize during early animal development, giving rise to diverse organ morphologies, which we achieve through genetic manipulation, advanced microscopy, and computational data analysis, in two different model systems.

BIOLOGIC AND MATERIALS SCIENCES & PROSTHODONTICS DIRECTORY

List of Dentistry People in this Department
Name Sort descending Contact Title
734-763-5280
adasilva@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Research Associate Professor.
Abramyan Vesela, Iva
(vesela)
734-765-1848
vesela@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Senior, BMSP
Al yousuf, Hasan Yousif Khalid
(hyousify)

hyousify@umich.edu
Al- Rashdan, Rama
(rrashdan)

rrashdan@umich.edu
Alawad, Razan
(ralawad)

ralawad@umich.edu
Bak, Sun-Yung
(sybak)
734-764-5527
sybak@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Beard, Charles C
(chbeard)
734-647-4136
chbeard@umich.edu
Senior Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Blumberg, Kaitlyn
(kblumber)
248-792-1148
kblumber@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Tech Assoc
Chen, Yu-Jen
(yujenc)

yujenc@umich.edu
Chiam, Sieu Yien (Ashley)
(ashchiam)

ashchiam@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Dill, Andrew Nelson
(andill)

andill@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Dobson, Jacqueline
(jdobs)
734-763-8469
jdobs@umich.edu
Clinical Res Coordinator Hlth
Elsaadany, Salma
(salmaels)

salmaels@umich.edu
Emrick, Joshua
(jjemrick)
734-763-1080
jjemrick@umich.edu
Assistant Professor
Fenno, J Christopher
(fenno)
734-763-3331
fenno@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry
Geng, Jian-Guo
(jgeng)
734-763-7073
jgeng@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
George, Furat M
(fgeorge)
734-763-5280
fgeorge@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Gerstner, Geoffrey E
(geger)
734-647-3069
geger@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
Groom, Thomas Dawson
(groomt)
845-527-0631
groomt@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hertanto, Mario
(mariohe)

mariohe@umich.edu
Hertanto, Marcel
(marcelhe)

marcelhe@umich.edu
Hill, Elliott Earl
(eehill)

eehill@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Hill, Emily Frances
(efhill)
989-785-4855
efhill@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Lecturer in Dentistry
Hu, Xiaosu
(xiaosuhu)
734-615-9390
xiaosuhu@umich.edu
Assistant Research Scientist, Center for Human Growth and Development
Hu, Yuanyuan
(yyhu)
734-975-9326
yyhu@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Specialist Lead
Johnson, Gary William
(gwjonson)
734-763-5280
gwjonson@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Kapoor, Saumya
(saumyak)

saumyak@umich.edu
Lewis, Charlotte M
(charlew)
734-763-3326
charlew@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Li, Junying
(junying)

junying@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry, Department of Prosthodontics, School of Dentistry
Li, Hui
(lihuium)
734-764-4678
lihuium@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Lead
Li, Peng
(penglium)
734-647-0232
penglium@umich.edu
Research Assistant Professor, Life Sciences Institute, Assistant Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry and Assistant Professor of Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Lian, Justin
(mjlian)

mjlian@umich.edu
Liang, Tian
(tianl)

tianl@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Liu, Fei
(feiliu)
734-936-0911
feiliu@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
Lombaert, Isabelle MA
(lombaert)
734-763-1135
lombaert@umich.edu
Associate Professor of Dentistry
M Paula, Goetting-Minesky
(mpgoett)
734-647-3889
mpgoett@umich.edu
Research Lab Specialist Assoc
Malik, a A
(mamalik)
734-647-6341
mamalik@umich.edu
Mandair, Gurjit Singh
(gmandair)
734-647-4214
gmandair@umich.edu
Research Area Specialist Inter
Marsh, Sarah E
(marshl)
734-763-3326
marshl@umich.edu
Patient Services Intermediate
Marshall, Thomas Scott
(tsmarshl)
734-763-5280
tsmarshl@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
May, Kenneth Bural
(bural)
Dept.: 734-763-5280 Off.: 734-763-6541
bural@umich.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus of Dentistry
Maynor, McKenzie
(mmaynor)
734-647-4629
mmaynor@umich.edu
McGoldrick, Samantha Jane
(smcgoldr)
734-615-7995
smcgoldr@umich.edu
Graduate Student Research Assistant
McIntosh, Lisa M
(lisamcin)
734-647-1369
lisamcin@umich.edu
Dental Clinic Coordinator
mendonca, Daniela B S Mendonca
(mendonca)
734-647-9825
mendonca@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor of Dentistry
Mendonca, Gustavo
(mgustavo)
734-764-6074
mgustavo@umich.edu
Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Meyer, Sharon E
(shaab)
734-763-3326
shaab@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediat. e
Mishina, Yuji
(mishina)
734-763-5579
mishina@umich.edu
William R Mann Professor of Dentistry and Professor of Dentistry, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences, School of Dentistry,
Director of the OHS/PhD program
Mistretta, Charlotte M
(chmist)
734-647-3911
chmist@umich.edu
William R Mann Professor Emerita of Dentistry, Active
Mohamed, Fatma Faiez A
(fmohamed)

fmohamed@umich.edu
Oh, Won-Suck
(ohws)
734-615-2168
ohws@umich.edu
Clinical Professor of Dentistry
Onisiforou, Andreas
(oandreas)

oandreas@umich.edu
Pan, Haichun
(haichun)
734-764-8278
haichun@umich.edu
Research Laboratory Tech Sr
Patel, Isha Sandip
(drisha)

drisha@umich.edu
Pogoncheff, Carl
(cpogonch)
734-763-5280
cpogonch@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Roberts, Paul
(pdrobe)
734.763.5280
pdrobe@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Intermediate
Saglik, Berna
(bernats)
734-763-5280
bernats@umich.edu
Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Schannault, Malines Brookes
(malines)
734-763-3326 or 480-560-9368
malines@umich.edu
Dental Assistant Intermediate
Simmer, James Patrick
(jsimmer)
734-764-4676
jsimmer@umich.edu
Professor of Dentistry
Siripurapu, Krishnapriya
(krisir)

krisir@umich.edu
Smith, Charles Edward
(cessmith)
734-763-5481
cessmith@umich.edu
Adjunct Research Scientist
Snyder, Mark D
(mdsnyder)
734-647-4328
mdsnyder@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor
Sotillo, Amanda
(asotilo)

asotilo@umich.edu
Stern, Tomer
(tomers)
(734) 764-8042
tomers@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Computational Biology
Stewart, Karen-Lee Jones
(kljones)
734-763-5280
kljones@umich.edu
Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor of Dentistry
Surface, Lauren
(lsurface)
734-763-8656
lsurface@umich.edu
Assistant Professor of Dentistry, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences, School of Dentistry
Taylor, Cherokee
(cfalatin)
734-936-5032
cfalatin@umich.edu
Administrative Assistant Senior
Ungar, Herschel
(hungar)

hungar@umich.edu
Velasquez, Victor Moises
(victorvm)

victorvm@umich.edu
Weerappuli, Priyan Dimuthu
(pweerapp)

pweerapp@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Wei, Ivy Chen-Xuan
(ivycxwei)
734-763-5280
ivycxwei@umich.edu
Clinical Assistant Professor
Xiu, Kemao
(kemaoxiu)
734-647-4205
kemaoxiu@umich.edu
Research Fellow
Yoshida, Mutsumi
(yoshidam)
734-764-4622
yoshidam@umich.edu
Managing Director
Yusaf, Ambreen
(ambreeny)

ambreeny@umich.edu
Zhang, Hong
(zhanghon)
734-975-9318
zhanghon@umich.edu
Research Fellow

Not finding the person you want to find? Go to the Directory.


DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Samuel D Harris Collegiate Professor of Dentistry, School of Dentistry, Chair, Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics (BMSP)


CONTACT

ACADEMIC OFFICE

Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue, Room K1030
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-763-5280 or 734-936-5032 | Fax: 734-763-3453

Internal BMSP Site
Requires login

GRADUATE PROSTHODONTIC CLINIC

Department of Biologic and Materials Sciences & Prosthodontics
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N University Avenue, Room 3376
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
Phone: 734-763-3326